1. Where do I apply for a Georgia License?
Any Georgia State Patrol Post or any other location
designated by the Georgia Department of Public Safety. For information
2. Where do I get a drivers handbook for license examination?
Any Georgia State Patrol Post.
3. I just moved here from another state, how long do I have to obtain a Georgia license?
Any person who is a resident of this state for 30 days
shall obtain a Georgia Drivers License before operating a motor vehicle
in this state O.C.G.A. 40-5-20
4. What is the address for the Richmond Hill Police Department?
Richmond Hill Police Department
120 Richard Davis Drive * P.O. Box 250
Richmond Hill, Georgia 31324
5. What is the seat belt law?
Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety
6. What is the Georgia law concerning child restraints?
Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety
7. I am a new resident. How long do I have before I am required to purchase a Georgia license plate?
Any person owning or operating a motor vehicle on any
public street or highway shall register his or her vehicle within 30
days after becoming a resident of this state. O.C.G.A. 40-2-8
8. What is the legal drinking age in Georgia?
Must be 21 years of age to drink, purchase or possess alcohol.
9. Does Georgia require motorcycle operators to wear a helmet?
10. What is the Georgia law regarding me working as an employee at an establishment that serves or sells alcohol?
No person shall allow or require a person in his
employment under 18 years of age to dispense, serve, sell, or take
orders for any alcoholic beverages. This shall not prohibit persons
under 18 years of age who are employed in supermarkets, convenience
stores, breweries, or drug stores from selling or handling alcoholic
beverages which are sold for consumption off the premises. O.C.G.A.
11. Does Georgia honor out-of-state gun permits?
Yes. The State of Georgia honors other states permits as
long as that state honors Georgia's permits and the licensee is in
compliance with Georgia laws.
Peace officers or certified retired peace officers from
other states which recognize Georgia peace officers in their state may
carry a firearm without a permit O.C.G.A. 16-11-129
12. How do I obtain a gun permit?
You may obtain a permit to carry a firearm by making
application at the Bryan County Probate Court Judge's office in
Pembroke, Georgia. Convicted felons cannot obtain a permit and it is in
violation of Georgia law for them to possess a firearm of any kind.
There is an application fee and a background check is completed prior
to the issuance of a permit. The phone number to the Probate Judge's
office is (912) 653-3856
13. What is the Georgia law concerning fireworks?
Please see the official State of Georgia General Assembly Code for the most up to date information.
14. Is it unlawful to ride in the back of a truck?
It is unlawful for anyone under the age of 18 to ride in
the uncovered bed of a pickup truck while being operated on an
interstate highway. O.C.G.A. 40-8-79
15. Does Richmond Hill have a leash law?
Yes. Any person owning or having custody of a dog within
the city limits shall confine such dog on the premises of the owner or
on the premises of some responsible person. Dogs shall not be permitted
to run at large, except on a leash not more than 6 feet long and in the
care of a competent person. Ordinance Sec. 14-4
16. Does Richmond Hill have an alarm ordinance?
Yes. Within 10 days after the installation of an alarm
system, the person or business maintaining such alarm system shall
register such alarm system with the police department. Registration is
for business and educational facilities only. There is a $4.00 fee
payable to the City of Richmond Hill at which point an alarm
registration number will be issued. Decals must be displayed within
four feet of the front door of the alarmed premises. The false alarm
fine ranges from $90.00 to $750.00 depending on the number of false
alarms in a 12 month period. There is no fine for 5 or less alarms.
17. Is it true that there is an ordinance that bans smoking within 1000 feet of a school?
Yes. It is unlawful for any person to possess any
tobacco product or related object within 1000 feet of a public or
private school, except while in a moving vehicle traveling upon a pubic
road, or while on private property and with the consert of the owner of
said property. It is also unlawful for any person under the age 18 to possess or purchase cigarettes without their parents written permission.
18. What is the curfew for minors in the City of Richmond Hill?
It is unlawful for any person under the age of 16 to
loiter, wander, stroll or play in any public place either on foot or to
cruise about without a set destination in any vehicle in or upon the
public streets, highways, roads, alleys, parks, playgrounds, or other
public grounds, public places, public buildings, places of amusement,
eating places, vacant lots or any place unsupervised by an adult having
the lawful authority to be at such places, between the hours of 11:00
P.M. on any day and 6:00 A.M. of the following day; provided, however,
that on Friday and Saturday the effective hours are between 12 midnight
and 6:00 A.M. of the following day. There are exceptions which are
further stated in the ordinance. Copies may be obtained from the police
department. Ordinance Section 9-1-702
19. What does the 911 Road Naming and Addressing Ordinance state?
Basically, it states that every residence or place of
business must post their assigned 911 address above or on their front
door. If the building is not visible from the street, the address must
be posted near the walk, driveway or common entrance to such building
so as to easily identify the property. A copy of the complete ordinance
is available at the police department.
If you have other questions or need further clarification, please forward us an e-mail and we will respond as soon as possible.